A Conundrum, Of Sorts

I’d like to think that I’ve done well career-wise, considering I uprooted myself from everything to move halfway across the country. I’ve managed to re-earn my National Registry, ACLS, and hopefully PALS here soon.

My friend Libby recently told me that her workplace would LOVE to have me. (As in, give us your resume and we make an employement offer.) Even more tempting, they will allow me to practice more like a medic in terms of medication administration, patient assessment, and patient education. I could go part-time and get benefits.

There’s one catch: I would work for the largest elective abortion provider in the United States. Yes, THAT one with women in dancing vagina costumes.

I’m torn between upsetting my family and throwing away my one chance to prove to future hospital/EMS providers that I’m more than tech material.

Comments would be greatly appreciated.

~ by minimedic on November 28, 2012.

4 Responses to “A Conundrum, Of Sorts”

  1. You would regret knowing what you had done for a long long time. Blood money never rests well in one’s pocket.

  2. YOU are the only one that can make that decision… I’d look at all the pluses and minuses and sit down with Chia Pet.

    • My husband and I have discussed it: he has no problem with me working there, as it would be more money and health benefits.

      I submitted a cover letter and resume. I’ve yet to hear anything from them.

      Rumor has it that Saturdays (like, EVERY single one) might be required of me. That’s honestly a huge deal breaker for me.

  3. Like the Old NFO said: You and the Eltee have to decide if you can stand working for them, even if for only a little while. “To thine ownself be true.”

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers